Training Opportunities

Equine Dentistry

Gain first hand experience and learn from one of the best and most experienced professionals in the profession in our Advanced Equine Dentistry courses which are available.


Ensuring you and your horse are both balanced and working in partnership is critical for a successful showjumper.  Riders from the UK and abroad come for training, with or without their horses, on short and long term training programmes. We provide training for riders, horse and rider partnerships or we can work individually on your horse through its education in breaking and starting to showjump and developing through the different competition levels.

Horse and Stable Management

NVQ certificates

  • Students are also taken for NVQ training through the Modern Apprenticeship scheme in conjunction with approved providers. The NVQs offered at Kington Langley Stud are:

  • Horse care (including Breeding Options)

  • Logistics, including HGV license

  • Customer care and service

NVQs and key skills are combined together in a framework called a Modern Apprenticeship.

Modern Apprenticeships are nationally designed training programmes for 16-24 year olds who have left full-time education or are already in employment. They offer young people the opportunity to start their career through a combination of learning options and work experience. There are two levels of Modern Apprenticeships:-

  • Foundation Modern Apprenticeships (FMAs)

  • Advanced Modern Apprenticeships (AMAs)

FMAs last at least 12 months, while AMAs last at least two years. Young people wishing to become Modern Apprentices will need to show the ability to complete the programme. 

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) are vocational awards that are achieved through assessment and training. There are three levels of NVQ in the equine industry which focus on basic work activities under supervision up to Level 3, which involves managing team members and being seen to have considerable responsibility. 

The NVQ academic equivalents are:-

  • NVQ 1 = three to four GCSEs at grades D-E

  • NVQ 2 = four to five GCSEs at grades A-C

  • NVQ 3 = two A-levels

Foundation Modern Apprentices work towards NVQ Level 2 and Advanced Modern Apprentices work towards NVQ Level 3.